Fashion · University

Hello!

2028499ef2da8e0ca7d5ddbc341ebe76

So first, welcome to my NTU Fashion Communication & Promotion blog! Hope you like it.

For my university course, we are required to start a blog (or online journal) throughout our 3 year studies that documents our learning and experiments, amongst other things.

A few random things about me:

  • I’ll be a fresher at Nottingham Trent University this year and I’m equally terrified and excited!
  • I’m 19 (bday’s 20th April) and after my A-Levels I unexpectedly had a gap year which I spent travelling (Europe and Asia), working and interning a bit and sleeping a lot.
  • I just finished a Fashion PR & Marketing internship at FABRYAN (which I will write a blog post about the AMAZING experience that I’ve had there) and while I was in the Philippines, I managed to get a TV wardrobe styling work experience too! More on that later.
  • My favourite fashion brands are Carolina Herrera, Oscar de la Renta, Kate Spade and Tory Burch (aspirational ones).
  • My favourite beauty brands are Estee Lauder, Anastasia Beverly Hills and NARS.
  • I took Information Technology, Philosophy & Ethics and Art Photography for for my A-Levels (AAB).
  • I think as of now, I’d like to work in PR, marketing, styling or in the art department at a fashion publication.

Why FCP? 

After dropping out of Loughborough university after only a month studying Web Development (hated it), I found out about the FCP course at NTU. The more I read about it, the more I got excited and interested. Why didn’t I think of it before? I was always in love with fashion from a young age (I wanted to be a fashion designer from my primary school days to early teenager) and as I’m useless at illustrating designs and sewing, the communication side just appealed to me a lot. It’s a blend of fashion and graphic design plus a broad range of career paths – from marketing, branding, styling, public relations to art direction. With the strong industry links and great reputation for art and design courses, I applied as soon as I got home. With me already loving the city campus, all I had to do was convince the admissions that I deserve my place. As I had my A-level grades, it wasn’t so nerve-wracking because I already passed the entry requirements.

Fast forward many months, I’m writing this at Week 7 into the course and I can honestly say I’ve made the right decision. I’m so glad I followed my instinct even though it was scary but now it’s worth it. I can’t even imagine what I would be like if I had stayed doing a computer science course even if I hated it. I’ve met some awesome people here at NTU and the course is just so interesting and I actually want to learn about the subject. I know there’s a negative stigma to people who’ve dropped out (“You didn’t try hard enough”) and also to people who are studying fashion (“Pfft. That’s an easy degree”), but if you’re happy and content, I guess that’s the only thing that matters.

fbb47d59d546cdc94a696076a664f8b9

 

Leave a Reply

