Fashion

Style Icon – Olivia Palermo

op1

Olivia Palermo has been one of my style icons for a while now. After coming across a street style picture of her in NYFW a few years ago, I just had to google and find out more about her. She’s an American socialite, occasionally models for brands and magazines and she became a brand ambassador for the 2013 Maasai Project for Pikolinos and more recently, CIATE London.

op2

I just love how chic and polished her style is. Sure, over the years she had been pictured wearing something crazy or ‘out-there’ but most of the time I like that her style is ‘wearable’ (which you can actually be inspired by) and feminine. From an interview of her, she said that tailoring is her style secret. People have to know their proportions, what looks right for them and what doesn’t work for them. Probably why I never saw Olivia in an ill-fitting look.

3

She’s not afraid to play with colour and patterns which makes each of her look very unique and eye-catching. I recently saw THE CITY tv series (a reality tv show which follows Whitney Port and her friends/enemies navigate New York and work in the fashion industry) and while she was portrayed as the bitchy antagonist there, I couldn’t stop staring at her outfits. She’s such a sophisticated lady.

op4

I have to say though, right now her style isn’t the best. Sometimes she comes across as dressing way too old for her age (matronly) but I guess I’m thankful for pinterest so I can look and get inspired by her looks from a year or two ago!

She is the owner of www.oliviapalermo.com 

Untitled

I keep track of her instagram posts/ street style shots on www.oliviasstyle.blogspot.com which is actually ran by one of her fans!

Here’s the INSIDE THE WARDROBE Vogue video of her talking more about her ‘edited’ style and she shares her favourite designers for daywear and wardrobe staples.

Leave a Reply

