Fashion

Teen Vogue – Fashion At Work

As someone who is interested in fashion PR, communications and the like, I absolutely enjoyed watching Teen Vogue’s Youtube channel series ‘Fashion At Work’. I came across this series months ago when I wasn’t even at university yet but watching them got me even more excited and motivated to study! It has really opened my eyes to other parts of the fashion industry and I’d love to have their careers in the future. I chose my three favourite videos from the series to share with you!

What kinda surprised/scared me was the fact that they were all quite young. Like twenty-four, twenty-five and they’re already brand managers and PR coordinator for a famous brand? Whereas I would be already twenty-two when I graduate and most likely will have to undertake multiple internships to break into this competitive industry. Nonetheless, I’ll continue doing and studying what I love (FCP, of course) and who knows? This just reminded me that I have to search now for work experiences and internships for this Christmas break or even for next year. Interning for FABRYAN last August and September was an amazing experience, but I’d love to be able to be more involved in the publicity side.

  1. GETTING A JOB IN COMMUNICATIONS AT DIANA VON FURSTENBERG 

Elizabeth Luby, 27, is senior manager of communications at Diane von Furstenberg and oversees all collection-related press for the brand in the U.S. and internationally. Elizabeth gives us a peek behind the scenes at what goes into executing DVF’s strategy each season and what it’s like to work for a fashion icon.

2. PRABAL GURUNG’S PR COORDINATOR 

Wondering how to get a job in PR with one of the industry’s most talked-about designers? Follow Calypso Lawrence’s lead. In this video, spend a day in the life of the 25-year-old Prabal Gurung PR coordinator, and afterwards, keep up with her work at @prabalgurung!

3. BECOMING A BRAND MANAGER FOR MODA OPERANDI 

Learn how 24-year-old Jana Hofheimer landed the dream job, bringing collections straight from the runway to the consumer for fashion brand Moda Operandi.

Hope you enjoy the videos and let me know what you think? Which one was your favourite?

You can watch the rest of the series here!

Leave a Reply

