Fashion

Oscar de la Renta (Pre-Fall 2016)

Just yesterday the Pre-Fall 2016 collection of Oscar de la Renta was released. As the brand is one of my personal favourites, I always look forward to see and admire the new collections and this one certainly did not disappoint. Peter Copping’s creations mark the full year that he’s been with the brand since de la Renta’s passing last October.

The fashion legend actually handpicked Peter Copping himself to take over his fashion empire with de la Renta praising him “a great talent … along with our shared design sensibilities, we both have a deep curiosity about the wider world, from music and art to architecture and gardens.”

Peter Copping’s first collection was the Fall 2015, which I would admit, fell below my (high!) expectations of the brand but I was willing to give him a pass since it’s quite hard to follow through the fashion legend Oscar de la Renta, who’s designs I will always respect and admire.

For this Pre-Fall 2016, Peter Copping got his inspiration from his ‘adopted home: New York, and by extension, America.’

“I wanted the collection to look like a patchwork, a rich mix, because that’s what I find America to be,”

He also explained that he studied U.S. artists, Hollywood stars, and stylish Americans of all stripes for inspiration. Grace Kelly, Marilyn Monroe, and Madonna mingled on his mood board.

I like the New York being used as an inspiration, as it fits in with our upcoming FCP course research trip there (exactly one month from now!)! Which makes me even more excited, and I didn’t think that was possible!

I just want to share some of my favourite looks from the lookbook below. The brand signature of timeless elegance combined with modern prints and patterns were also visible in this new offering.I’ve already said several times that if I was a millionaire, I’d be stocking my closet full of de la Renta and (Carolina) Herrera.

ladylike in de la renta

oscar-de-la-renta-pre-fall-2016-lookbook-01oscar-de-la-renta-pre-fall-2016-lookbook-02

oscar-de-la-renta-pre-fall-2016-lookbook-03oscar-de-la-renta-pre-fall-2016-lookbook-05

oscar-de-la-renta-pre-fall-2016-lookbook-06oscar-de-la-renta-pre-fall-2016-lookbook-11

oscar-de-la-renta-pre-fall-2016-lookbook-12oscar-de-la-renta-pre-fall-2016-lookbook-16

oscar-de-la-renta-pre-fall-2016-lookbook-17oscar-de-la-renta-pre-fall-2016-lookbook-18

oscar-de-la-renta-pre-fall-2016-lookbook-21oscar-de-la-renta-pre-fall-2016-lookbook-28

| You can view full collection here |

-Sources-

vogue.com

oscardelarenta.com

 

Leave a Reply

