Photography

Flotsam

While I was doing research for a recent brief I came across a photographer called Lisa Sorgini. An Australian-based whose expertise covers many aspects – from travel photo documents to botanical works, mixed media (food stamps, patterns) to music and live events. A particular ongoing work of hers stood out to me.

F L O T S A M // Waterplants (Autumn Winter 2015)

Anyone who knows me knows about my obsession with flowers and I literally couldn’t stop staring at these photographs. This collection features floral bouquets that seem to float in bubbling water. I find all of them so hauntingly beautiful and serene. I love the crystal clear quality and frosty feel of the close up photos. The colours are the focal point against the white and clean background and the texture created by the bubbles is just divine.

This project brought back memories of my A Level photography when I incorporated water elements with nature. Flowers mixed with lemonade and water plus props (ruffles, butterfly hair clip, jewellery and other crafty things) inside a mini fish tank was one of my final piece projects. You can see some of the images below after the FLOTSAM collection.

Here are just some of my favourite ones from Lisa Sorgini’s ongoing project:

3_1200

5_1200

IMG_4127-Edit_1200

IMG_4575-Edit_1200

IMG_7226-Edit_1200

IMG_9808-Edit-2_1200

IMG_9917-Edit_1200

2_1200

 

IMG_9640-Edit-2_1200

LISA SORGINI 

Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook


 

My work from A Level photography – some of the pictures from a Nature brief

macro | water | lemonade | flowers | lace | ruffles | jewellery | crepe paper | photoshop | bubbles 

IMG_0020_45 copy

DSC_0088

IMG_0018bw_5

FinalPieceJanalou

DSC_0094 (2)

DSC_0112

IMG_0018gg_5

-Sources –

www.lisasorgini.com

Leave a Reply

