Fashion · Travel

London: Valentino

VALENTINO / KNIGHTSBRIDGE, LONDON (21st Dec)

A few days ago, I mentioned that I was planning to go to London with my friend (who’s also studying fashion but at a different uni) and the trip involved us going inside Valentino on Sloane Street, in Chelsea, London.

The brand is one of my favourites, and I always look forward to seeing Valentino’s designs on the red carpet and street style but this is actually my first time going inside the designer store. Needless to say, I was super excited yet a bit apprehensive. What if the staff are super snobby and wouldn’t allow us to take even just a couple of pictures? I really didn’t know what to expect and I was glad I was with my friend otherwise I probably wouldn’t have managed past the security guy at the door.

When we went inside, as most designer stores (we’ve noticed), it was really quiet and only one or two potential customers being served by various staff. As soon as we walked in, one of the female sale assistant approached us and we immediately asked her if it was ok for us to take a couple of pictures. We had to explain that we were students and luckily, she was nice and agreed. Although, she did mention that only a couple of pictures are permitted. Oops.


 

VISUAL MERCHANDISING/ WINDOW DISPLAY

20151222_140342

Like the other high end stores on Sloane Street, Valentino’s window display was very festive, perfect for the Christmas winter season.

20151222_140419


 

They have the most amazing looks on display as soon as you walk inside. If this is meant to make customers stop and stare, they definitely succeeded.


 

INTERIOR

I absolutely love the brand’s retail environment. It just screams luxury, sophistication, allure. I like that it’s minimalism but fun, not just plain black and white but a marble grey/white effect that I just find very appealing and clean. They also have straight vertical lines which is slightly transparent along most walls. The whole interior design echoes the brand’s heritage and values.

Below you can actually see one of the staff preparing one customer’s purchase (lucky lady).

On the right side below, the changing rooms. They are located in each floor (3 floors overall) and keeps with the grey coloured theme.


 

THE CLOTHES!

What I like about the store is that Valentino organises and separates their clothes by either theme/narrative or colour. Below are what I call the space/star collection.

20151222_120329

20151222_120835

Look at all that delicate embroidery. I wonder how long it took for them to create and finish the designs.

20151222_121435

 

20151222_120848

20151222_121528

20151222_121542


 

THE TAG

We had a look at the tag and it’s so pretty. With the tag design very colourful, bright and feminine.

 

20151222_121833

Yes, that blue coat with gold embroidery costs £6,800.

20151222_120203

20151222_134218


 

PERFUME

I actually own a Valentina perfume but to see this in store, I had to take a quick picture. Our next module this year will be about perfume advertising, so I’m pretty excited for that.

20151222_132243


 

ORANGES AND GREENS

Valentino is like the master of bold prints and glamorous fashion pieces.

I don’t really like the dress below (too many colours!) but I just love the lace details.

20151222_134247

SHOES

See how clean and expensive the retail display looks? Also, the super famous Valentino Rockstud footwear collection are also on display. I do have to admit that I’ve seen enough Rockstuds online from bloggers to last me a lifetime but it was quite nice to actually see them in person.

20151222_115849

20151222_115924

20151222_115918

There was a customer actually trying them on when we were there. I wonder which one she ended up getting. The blue with red heel, perhaps?

20151222_115954


 

THE PACKAGING

Like the tags, the packaging is so cute and fits perfectly with the brand’s aesthetics and identity.

20151222_120136

I have to say, I really enjoyed my time visiting Valentino, me and my friend had a great time and we got lots of info and inspiration that we can both use on our respective projects. The staff were nice, though there was one who followed our every step. He was trying to be subtle but when you have someone appearing next to you in three different floors, well let’s just say, he didn’t do a good job of hiding. 😛

-All the photos are taken by me. –

Leave a Reply

