Fashion · Travel

New York: Day 5 & 6

My last post about New York! Sorry the posts didn’t turn out as detailed as I would have liked it to, but have to go and finish my illustrated InDesign report!

FRIDAY

For our last full day, we went for breakfast at Bread & Butter (pancakes with bacon, yum!) and immediately went to FIT museum afterwards to view two exhibitions. Denim and Fashion Fairy Tale (can you guess which one I’m most excited for?). We spent the whole day browsing the Upper East Side (so different from midtown Manhattan, Soho and Chelsea). I kinda want to live and shop there (like the over-priviledged teens from Gossip Girl, ha!) but I also managed to take some window display shots for further retail research.

the view from our hotel room

FIT – one of the most famous fashion colleges in the US! Next year at NTU there’s an opportunity for us FCP students to apply to study at FIT for a semester. I would love the opportunity!

2016-01-15 12.49.32

 

  1. Denim Fashion’s Frontier – useful for people who are doing denim for their project, but honestly, I didn’t like it that much. I didn’t find it very exciting or inspiring.

2. Fairy Tale Fashion – all of the designs featured in this new exhibition are all so lovely! I could have probably spent hours looking at every single detail. But it was the first day it opened and very busy so had to take really quick photos even in the middle of school children on a trip. The photos are darker and it really doesn’t do them justice but at least I’ll have the memories!

20160115_122330
beauty and the beast! one of my favourite parts of the exhibition

I especially loved the underwater mermaid section.

Sleeping Beauty! I remember the dress below (left) from Marchesa runway!

20160115_123806

If you’re currently in New York, I would 100% recommend going to see Fairytale Fashion Exhibition at FIT. Perfect for obsessed Disney and fairytale fans like me!

Upper East Side – fifth avenue and madison avenue shops eg. Oscar de la Renta, Kate Spade

After days of walking nonstop, we always had to stop for a few minutes and this time, it was in front of Central Park.

2016-01-15 15.10.00

Tod’s – similar to the London shops in terms of the window displays.

In terms of my example ‘fringe’, I’ve mostly seen it on bags from YSL and like the images below, from Stella McCartney.

ETRO

 

Oscar de la Renta – I was super excited to see the UES store of one of my favourite brands ever. The whole store is as beautiful as the clothes. So feminine and glamorous!

2016-01-15 15.47.22

Like the dresses and outfits, there was always a pop of colour even in the interior. I’m kinda jealous of all the salespeople who got to be in the shop everyday!

2016-01-15 15.48.40

Kate Spade – very cute and sweet. The staff were so friendly too!

2016-01-15 15.53.37

Kate Spade also had the cutest fitting rooms I’ve seen so far!

SATURDAY

After we left our bags in the ballroom, we had some time to do some last-minute shopping before saying goodbye to NY. We stopped at MACY’s (again), souvenir shops and GUESS where I saw a fringe chandelier inside GUESS.

2016-01-15 14.17.59

And that was it! Had to get the coach back to JFK airport and back to Nottingham! Without the free wifi at the hotel, I feel so out of touch with news and social networking lately. I’ve never done so much walking and I think I need another holiday. Fortunately, I’ve managed to see the sights and shops that I really wanted, although one regret was that I never got to visit Carolina Herrera’s store in the Upper East Side. My favourite designer but it was too far from the other shops we wanted to visit and by then, we were exhausted.

The NY posts may seem really rushed but just had to show what I was up to during the trip and now back to work on my InDesign project!

 

Leave a Reply

