Fashion · University

The Intern

I finally got the chance to see The Intern movie. When it came out in 2015, I’ve heard quite a few good things about it but I never really got the chance to see or even know the short gist of it. Nevertheless, a few weeks ago my friend and me decided to spend an afternoon watching The Intern and I surprisingly enjoyed it. The American ‘comedy’ film was directed, written and co-produced by Nancy Meyers and stars Robert De Niro and Anne Hathaway.

The-Intern-new-poster

The Intern was basically a film about life. It’s about how easy it is to change if someday you woke up with feelings of doing something completely different. I’m not actually sure why it was described as a comedy film as I recall there weren’t too many funny scenes, and not in a bad way. This film had a very steady, calm pace that I didn’t mind at all. The movie centered around 70 year old widower Ben Whittaker (De Niro) who applied to be a senior citizen intern at About the Fit, a fast-growing ecommerce fashion start up. The founder/CEO Jules was played by Anne Hathaway.

As a fashion student, I liked the fact that the company is an online fashion e-commerce build out from scratch and loved the aspects where viewers can see how the everything operated and this film basically showed a sneak peek of what it would look like to work at a company like that.

I was actually watching this when I was in a very unmotivated mood, I was feeling uninspired by everything, by the current task I was meant to be focusing on and just wasn’t in a very good mood. I think this film is one of those feel-good, inspiring films that’s relevant to all ages. Oh and even though I like my romance (and romcoms), I was glad that it wasn’t the main focus in this. This film focused more on friendship, respect, family and career.

Regarding the characters, they were all pretty likeable and the two main characters certainly grew on me. One aspect I have to mention was the ending. One of the main character’s decisions I personally didn’t agree with but I can overlook that. It’s just one of the very few negative things I have to say about this film.

Nevertheless, the set design and costumes were beautiful. I appreciated the fact that even though Jule was the CEO and founder of a fashion company, the way she dressed was put together but there was no pretentiousness and she didn’t dress in a crazy way. All of Hathaway’s outfits were simply divine and wearable! Second thing, the looks and fashion references have been carefully chosen and if you’re like me, you’ll recognize them very quick.

8bcaec819f31f4b41bde6883e0f4574b

Apparently the director Nancy Meyers is well known not just for chick-flick clasics but also designs movies that are envy inducing in the interiors department. Not only did I enjoy the movie itself, I could not take my eyes off of Jules’s chic Brooklyn brownstone and office. I love that the design was done in a striking palette of black, white, and gray and I want to live in it!

“We wanted Jules’s place to be the home of a young family with the kinds of furniture and belongings young families might have: some mid-century pieces, black-and-white photography, Moroccan rugs, and lots of toys! And in her kitchen, open shelving, no upper cabinets. I love that look—feels very modern.” – Nancy Meyers

 

Nancy Meyers also researched real start-ups to capture the appropriate look and functionality for the office design.

All in all, this is one of the most underrated films I think I’ve seen so far and I wish I had seen it earlier!

Leave a Reply

